

EL PASO COUNTY STATE OF TEXAS

RESOLUTION



Whereas, the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1955 to honor those athletes, both men and women who have in their athletic fields of endeavor brought great credit upon themselves and El Paso County; and

Whereas, the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame honors each year the High School Student Athletes of the Year and the Class of 2021 Hall of Fame Class under President Ed Stansbury, the organization will honor Joe Overton, Jim Weddell, and John Birkelbach in the Living Athlete Category along with Maria Kennedy and Erwin Bloxdorf in the Coach/Administrator Category. Victor Firth will be honored in the Official Category followed by Felix Chavez in the Supporter of Athletics Category and Coach Charlie Brown in the Posthumous Category at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 25, 2021 at the Radisson Hotel.

Whereas, El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame in 1981 started a High School Student Athlete of the Year Honor Recognition Program and in this the 40 Year Anniversary will honor the following four individuals as the first ever recipients of the Award in 1981; Patsy Norman (Brunson) of El Paso High School, Kurt Powell of Irvin High School, Rosa M. Sosa (Chavez) of Bel Air High School and Eddie Cadena of Riverside High School.

Whereas, the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame has inducted almost 383 men and women into its prestigious organization, and whose individual plaques are proudly displayed in the concourse of the Don Haskins Center on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso; and

Whereas; the sponsorship of the El Paso Sports Commission and the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame's yearly efforts in continuing to provide fond memories for decades to come for El Paso, Texas and the region; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the El Paso County Judge and Commissioners Court that August 22nd through 28th 2021 be known as

"El Paso Athletic Hall and El Paso Sports Commission Class of 2021

Hall of Fame Week"

SIGNED, this 23rd day of August 2021

Commissioner Carlos Leon, Pct. 1

Commissioner David Stout, Pct. 2

Commissioner Iliana Holguin, Pct. 3

Commissioner Carl Robinson, Pct. 4

Ricardo A. Samaniego, County Judge