

WHEREAS, our commitment to facilitating the best instruction possible to every student in every school district within the County of El Paso is one of our most compelling responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, students and faculty of every school district within the County of El Paso, especially the rural school districts in the outlying areas of the County, will certainly benefit from the expansion of broadband connectivity; and

WHEREAS, the need to provide high-speed internet accessibility to EVERY student within El Paso County is of paramount importance, most especially with the growing demand caused by the ongoing pandemic and various other potential natural calamities; and

WHEREAS, the absence of a reliable internet infrastructure impedes both virtual and distance learning at a time when 21st century instruction is replete with technological advancements; and

WHEREAS, it is incumbent upon our leaders and decision-makers to act conscientiously and put our students at the top of their priorities; and

WHEREAS, internet accessibility and connectivity throughout El Paso County will not only benefit our students, but the entire community as well, by increasing access to financial institutions that offer online banking and other services, effective access to healthcare providers offering telemedicine services, and access to expanded employment and training opportunities; and

WHEREAS, with full transparency of the process from start to finish, any broadband expansion project can only be accomplished with teamwork and cooperation amongst all stakeholders; and now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the El Paso County Commissioners Court offers unequivocally, its steadfast and unwavering support for the expansion of internet connectivity throughout El Paso County.

IN OFFICIAL RECOGNITION WHEREOF, the Commissioners of the Court hereby affix their signatures, this twenty-second day of February, two thousand and twenty-one in El Paso, Texas.

SIGNED, this 22^h day of February 2021

Commissioner Carlos Leon, Pct. 1

Commissioner David Stout, Pct. 2

Commissioner Iliana Holguin, Pct. 3

Commissioner Carl Robinson, Pct. 4

Ricardo A. Samaniego, County Judge