

**WHEREAS,** the citizens of El Paso County and the State of Texas deserve a fair, fully transparent, impartial, and depoliticized process for the drawing of state legislative and congressional districts of near equal population; and,

*WHEREAS,* the current redistricting process creates a potential conflict of interest as state legislators are effectively choosing their own constituents; and,

**WHEREAS,** the redistricting process should be conducted in an open manner and include public hearings, set timelines, and access to redistricting tools and proposed plans, so that our communities have real opportunities for public dialogue and feedback; and,

**WHEREAS,** public input and involvement in the redistricting process will empower our communities by allowing them to elect representatives who represent their interests on issues that are important to their lives; and,

**WHEREAS,** the boundaries of state and congressional districts are currently drawn by legislative incumbents with a simple majority vote, often sacrificing the integrity of communities, neighborhoods and cities; and,

**WHEREAS,** important principles, such as the protections of the federal Voting Rights Act and respect for neighborhoods, towns and cities should be clearly listed for any redistricting process so that our communities are kept together; and,

*WHEREAS,* voters are more likely to participate when they feel their vote will count and that they have a reasonable chance of electing candidates who represent their interests; and,

*WHEREAS*, elected officials are more responsive to constituents when voters have a choice of candidates, thus increasing accountability and serving the best interests of the voters of Texas; and,

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the El Paso County Judge and Commissioners Court do hereby support legislative efforts to establish a citizen-led commission composed of Texas voters who are representative of the state's diversity, partisan balance and geography, for all future redistricting. This Independent Commission will oversee the process to draw the lines of the state Senate, State House of Representatives and Congressional districts.



## EL PASO COUNTY STATE OF TEXAS

## RESOLUTION



**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that we call upon all those elected officials and party leaders in the State of Texas who represent the citizens of El Paso County to publicly announce their support of and commitment to work towards passage of such legislative efforts and that a copy of this Resolution be delivered to each of them:

Governor Greg Abbott Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick Attorney General Ken Paxton Secretary of State David Whitley United States Senator John Cornyn United States Senator Ted Cruz United States Representative Will Hurd United States Representative Veronica Escobar Texas State Senator José Rodriguez Texas State Representative Mary E. González Texas State Representative César Blanco Texas State Representative Evelina "Lina" Ortega Texas State Representative Joe Moody Texas State Representative Art Fierro Gilberto Hinojosa, Chairman, Democratic Party of Texas James Dickey, Chairman, Republican Party of Texas

SIGNED, this 4<sup>th</sup> day of February 2019

Commissioner Carlos Leon, Pct. 1

Commissioner David Stout, Pct. 2

Commissioner Vincent M. Perez, Pct. 3

Commissioner Carl Robinson, Pct. 4

County Judge Ricardo A. Samaniego